Ronaldo Wins Second Ballon d’Or

Posted on February 14, 2014 by


The FIFA Ballon d’Or is presented at the end of every year. It is an award that goes out to the best soccer player that year.

The 2013 Ballon d’Or ceremony took place on 13 January. The three nominees for the award were Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, and Frank Ribery. All three players had an outstanding year, but one stood out a little more than the others.

Cristiano Ronaldo had only won the Ballon d’Or once before. In 2008, when Ronaldo had won, he was still playing with Manchester United. Now with Real Madrid, Ronaldo has once again won the title. Lionel Messi has won the last four Ballon d’Or awards.

Each player had outstanding years. Ronaldo netted 69 goals in just 59 appearances for Madrid this season. He was averaging more than one goal a game. As Ronaldo was in great form, Messi suffered a series of injuries, being injured, then returning, and shortly after going out with the same injury.

Ribery had also had a good year, but his achievements were more team-centered than individual, as Bayern Munich won the Champions League.

“Watching these players compete is just an amazing feeling,” sophomore Greg Kambakis said.

There were many other players who had outstanding seasons. The votes were pretty tight. Ronaldo finished with 1,365 points, Messi with 1,205, and Ribery with 1,127.

Sepp Blatter, the president of FIFA, is a Messi fan. Near the end of the year, he called Ronaldo a commander in action. The next game Ronaldo responded with a hat trick and a celebration taunting Blatter.

“When I saw Ronaldo play that game, it looked like he was on a mission,” junior Joe Kinek said.

Posted in: Uncategorized